We call it Home
North Gate, located on Old Louisquisset Pike, is the permanent headquarters of the Society. Originally a Toll Gate House built for the Louisquisset Turnpike, and later the Lime Rock Hotel, the building eventually became the community center for Lime Rock Grange #22 for a period of 67 years. In 1971 the Society purchased the building from the Grange for the sum of $1.00 and in 1974 it was placed on the National Register of Historical Buildings as a part of Limerock Village Historic District.
On the second floor of the building is a meeting hall whose unique feature is an advertising stage curtain dating to 1925. Also, on the second floor, is the Rice Museum room, a reproduction of a mid-18th century room.
Located next door to North Gate is the former Lime Rock Grange #22 Fire Station, the Buckley building, which features historical items from the Lime Rock Grange, Lime Rock Volunteer Fire Department and the lime stone industry. Additionally on the grounds is a reconstruction of the original Arnold’s Lonsdale Bakery building.
Take a self-guided tour